Divorce in North Carolina
Whether you have been married for a year or for twenty years, the prospect of divorce can be frightening. Approximately 50% of marriages end in divorce. So how do you get through this transition? Is a Do-It-Yourself divorce right for you? We can help you with the decisions as you go through this process.
Here are a few things you need to know about NC divorce:
- An absolute divorce ends the marriage. You must be separated for a full year before you can file the law suit to obtain the divorce.
- You or your spouse must be a resident of North Carolina to file for divorce here.
- It is not necessary to have all other claims resolved prior to granting the divorce, but it is imperative that any claims for property division or spousal support be raised before the entry of the divorce. If not raised prior to divorce, those claims will be lost.
- If you have questions about the claims that end upon the granting of a divorce, check out our blog on the topic.
Uncontested Divorce – Is It Right For You?
If your case does not involve equitable distribution, alimony, child custody and support, an uncontested divorce may be appropriate for you. If you have already resolved these issues in a separation agreement, an uncontested divorce may also be appropriate. You should consult with an attorney prior to entry of a divorce to ensure you are not waiving any valuable rights.
DIY Divorce in North Carolina
Getting a divorce does not have to be complicated or expensive. We offer options depending on how much assistance you need. We can provide you with the forms necessary to file for divorce. We can also provide instructions for getting your divorce complaint served on your spouse. Finally, if you are intimidated about the prospect of appearing in court, we can guide you through every step of the process.
NC Divorce – Forms and general instructions – $200.00
NC Divorce with Assistance – We will email with you to get the necessary information, prepare your divorce complaint, summons and coversheets and email you about how to file suit and get your spouse properly served with the lawsuit. Then we will prepare your divorce judgment and let you know what you need to do in your specific county in order to get your judgment entered by the Clerk or Judge. We not only prepare the forms, but help walk you through the procedures to get your Divorce judgment entered. $300.00
Traditional Representation – We will appear as your attorney of record and handle all of the paperwork and presentation in Court in Martin County, North Carolina – $600.00. We will be glad to provide a specific quote for any county in North Carolina.
Filing Fees: Our prices do not include filing fees paid to the Court. The initial filing fee is $225.00. Service by the Sheriff is $30.00. If the Divorce is obtained by filing a Motion for Summary Judgement or Notice of Hearing, there is an additional $20.00 fee. These fees are paid directly to the Clerk of Superior Court.
We know it is a difficult step to take, but if you are ready to file for divorce, let Irvine Law Firm guide you through the process. Call us at (252) 809-4930 or email us today at firstname.lastname@example.org to get started.